Cast Iron Pizza

IMG_2651.JPG

It feels so good to be back! You can find all of my previous blog posts at: thedailygarlic.blogspot.com

Sadly, for the past two years I have allowed a passion of mine to get pushed aside by the distractions of life.  They say that we learn as we grow and as a result, I have learned that I MUST make the time (notice I did not say “find”) to do the things that I love.  As a mom and a wife my responsibilities are endless and if I don’t MAKE time for myself, then who will? Life can quickly become monotonous if we don’t make the time to do the things that we enjoy.  It all ties into self-care.

With that said,  I am ecstatic to present to you, my first blog post in two years!!!

With the boys (now ages 5 and 12) both being ridiculously picky eaters, and the husband and I having semi-sophisticated palates, I attempt to find a crowd pleaser meal at least once a week.  What’s more of a crowd please than Pizza?!

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 pkg. of store bought Pizza Dough (or you can find my favorite homemade pizza dough recipe at thedailygarlic.blogspot.com)

1 C Pizza Sauce (you can find my favorite “Perfect Pizza Sauce” recipe at thedailygarlic.blogspot.com)

1 TBSP Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper

1 C freshly grated Mozzarella

1/4 C freshly grated Parmesan

1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

toppings of your liking, I used: pepperoni cut into quarters, red onion, green bell pepper, sliced mushroom, and sliced olives

 

DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat your oven to 500 degrees
  • Stretch out the pizza dough into a uniform round
  • Set a 9-12″ cast iron pan over burner set on med-high
  • Allow the pan to heat, then place the stretched dough inside the pan making sure to pull the dough up the sides of the pan.
  • Allow the dough to bubble then brush the dough evenly with olive oil
  • Season with salt & pepper
  • Distribute the pizza sauce evenly (its ok if it gets onto the crust!)
  • Top with a mixture of mozzarella & parmesan
  • Next, top with your favorite toppings
  • Sprinkle with garlic powder
  • Slide the cast iron pan (careful…the handle with be VERY hot!) into the preheated oven and allow to bake for 12-18 minutes.
  • Let the pizza rest a few minutes before slicing, this will give you time to enjoy its beauty!
  • ENJOY!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

