Chocolate Chip Skillet Cookie

 

Last November my favorite black t shirt went missing. Even though it was nothing fancy, it was just a shirt I picked up from Target for maybe 12 bucks, still…it was my favorite black shirt! It’s one of those shirts that you can literally just pull out of the closet and throw on with anything. It fit perfect. Never lost it’s shape. Rarely needed ironing. And because of the material it’s made from, it doesn’t seem to ever fade. <—- and that’s a pretty big deal!

 
When I noticed it was MIA I pulled everything out of my dresser drawers, twice. I went through my entire closet hanger by hanger, numerous times. I even searched both boys closets and dressers and had the mister do the same in hopes that it accidentally got mixed in with their laundry. Still, no luck!

 
Once I came to terms with its absence, I settled on the idea that I must’ve accidentally placed it in the goodwill box that I had sent out for donation at the end of the year. I just hoped that whoever was lucky enough to end up with my shirt was enjoying it as much as I once did.

 
This week was teacher appreciation week at the boys’ school. Thursday specifically being “dress like your teachers favorite superhero” day. Since I had a superhero cape packed away with old costumes I decided to it pull down the Rubbermaid tote I had up in the closet and dig it out for Carson to wear.

 
And I’ll be darned!

 
Shoved in the middle of the tote, inside out and all wrinkled up laid my favorite black t shirt!!! It was a glorious reunion. I took the shirt, hid it behind my back and went to where the boys were to ask “Can you guess what I just found?!”. It took them only two guesses to figure out what was behind my back. Hehehe. 🙂

 

 

INGREIDENTS:

1 egg

1 C all purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 C plus 2 TBSP brown sugar

1/3 C granulated sugar

3/4 tsp kosher salt

6 TBSP unsalted butter

1/5 tsp vanilla extract

 

DIRECTIONS:

 

  • Place your oven rack to its lowest position.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  • In a large mixing bowl, mix together the brown sugar, granulated sugar, butter and kosher salt.
  • Stir in egg and vanilla
  • Add in flour and baking soda
  • Mix in 3/4 C of the chocolate chips, reserving the remainder.
  • Scrape the batter into a 10 inch cast iron skillet.
  • With damp hands, press dough down into an even layer so that dough extends to the sides of the pan.
  • Scatter the remaining chocolate chips on top of the cookie
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the edges are browned.
  • Allow the cookie to cool in the skillet for 1 hour.
  • Cut into wedges.  ENJOY!

 

kitchen tunes: case of the ex/Mya

recipe adapted from: Giant Chocolate Chip Skillet Cookie/ Bon Appetit Magazine March 2016

 

Leave a Reply

