Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Scones

As far as imagination and creativity goes, my brain sometimes severely lacks. Although I will say that I do have a pretty decent ability of being able to take a basic recipe (such as Betty Crockers “Scones”) and revising it, thus turning it into something of my own. As long as I stick close to the same dry/wet ingredient ratio, I can have so much fun swapping out ingredients and adding my own spin on it, often based on what I already have in my fridge. Most of the time it works, occasionally it doesn’t. With this mornings breakfast, I’d say it went very well!

Kitchen tunes: I’m yours/ jason mraz

INGREDIENTS:

1 3/4 all purpose flour

3 TBSP granulated sugar

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/3 C firm unsalted butter

1 large egg, beaten

1/2 C mini chocolate chips

6 TBSP heavy whipping cream

DIRECTIONS:

  • Heat oven to 400 degrees
  • In a large bowl, sift together the first five ingredients listed.
  • Using a pastry blender, cut in the butter until the mixture looks like fine crumbs
  • Stir in the egg, chocolate chips and heavy whipping cream (dough will be slightly dry)
  • Knead lightly 10 times.
  • On an ungreased cookie sheet, pat the dough down into an 8 inch round and using a sharp knife cut into 8 wedges.
  • Bake for aprox 15 minutes.
  • ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

