Smoked Mozzarella Caprese Salad

 

I can’t say that I’ve ever previously been interested in preparing or eating a Caprese salad.  It has always been one of those things for me that look nice, but it seems too simple to be classified as delicious.  Boy was I wrong!  You see, here’s how it went… The mister called me earlier in the day to discuss dinner plans.  Since I hadn’t thought that far ahead yet, he suggested that he could bbq.  Its been really hot here in CA so I knew that I wanted to avoid turning on the oven at any cost.  Remembering that I had some tomatoes, and smoked mozzarella left over from other dishes I made earlier in the week, a caprese salad just made sense! I’m so glad that I overcame the doubts I had about the Caprese salad, maybe it’ll teach me to think twice before I snub recipes.  πŸ™‚

 

adapted from bon appetit magazines recipe for: ultimate caprese salad

kitchen tunes: sweet caroline/ neil diamond

 

INGREDIENTS:

 

3 large tomatoes on the vine

8 oz. smoked mozzarella (regular would work, but the smoked makes this salad even better!)

salt (I used pink himalayan salt)

fresh ground pepper

premium olive oil

1/2 C of fresh whole basil leaves

one loaf of french bread (to be served on the side)

 

DIRECTIONS:

  • wash and slice tomatoes into thin rounds
  • Arrange the tomato slices on a plate and sprinkle with salt.
  • Slice the mozzarella into 12-13 pieces
  • lay the mozzarella slices out on the cutting board and sprinkle those with salt as well.
  • Arrange the mozzarella slices between the tomato slices and generously drizzle with a premium olive oil and season with pepper.
  • Allow to sit for 30 minutes.  This will allow the flavors to marry and juices to escape.
  • After 30 minutes arrange with basil leaves.
  • Serve with bread
  • ENJOY!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

